I have a confession to make. In recent years, I have discovered that I really love good gifts.

For a while, however, I was in denial and convinced myself and others that gifts did not matter to me at all. I thought they were a waste of money, superficial, and a poor substitute for showing “real love.”

My husband didn’t believe me for a long time. Even though I told him over and over again not to buy things for me, he always had a gift ready for every occasion and some for no occasion at all. Then about four years into our marriage, he considered that I might have actually meant what I had been saying all those years, so he decided to stop buying gifts for me altogether.

That year, there was no gift for valentine’s day, nothing for my birthday, nothing for our anniversary, and then nothing when Christmas rolled around. Absolutely nothing.

Well, wouldn’t you know it, that’s exactly when I realized that I really love gifts, because to both his and my surprise, I was really upset.

“But… I thought you didn’t like gifts, babe…”

“I know….that’s what I thought too…. I don’t know why I’m so sad.. maybe I do…”

Since then, I have become keenly aware of how much it means to me when I get a good gift because receiving a good gift means that I was on someone’s mind. It means that they found me valuable and worthy enough to spend their time on me, their energy, and their resources. It was costly in many different ways, but they did it with joy as an expression of their love. And that is why I love a good gift–it evidences LOVE.

And I believe that is why God loves to give gifts to us, too. Because He loves us and wants us to know it. He delights in giving good gifts—perfect gifts in fact—and He knows exactly what we want and need. God showers us with reminders of His love through sometimes big and sometimes small, but always precious and perfect, gifts.

Last week for example, He gave us a beautiful, new house. I’m sitting in it now looking  at the new appliances and the freshly painted walls, and I am still in disbelief. I am awestruck, really, not because the house is so magnificent, but because it is…perfect. It is perfectly charming, it is perfectly warm, and it has been perfectly well-kept and made ready for our family. And not only that, but it came at the perfect timing.

You see, back in 2014, it was New Year’s eve, and we were praying for a word for the new year. Foster care and adoption were newly on our hearts, but in the process, the social worker had told us that we needed more room to meet their housing requirements. So we looked into the possibility of moving. Unfortunately, we were financially tied down to that house and we couldn’t even afford to sell our home, let alone buy a new one.

Yet when we went to pray that night, kneeling in the middle of our living room floor and wondering how this would all work out, the clock struck midnight and we were ushered into the new year with encouragement. Danny and I both clearly felt the Lord tell us that He would deliver us into the promise land within the third year. So, we had peace to wait, and when I say God has perfect time, I mean He has PERFECT timing.

We moved in last week on December 30, and as we hauled in box after box, we marveled at the fact that it was exactly the third year since that word we received from the Lord. So we got to spend our first full day in our new house on New Year’s eve, and once again, we knelt down on our new living room floor, this time, to praise God for bringing us here in His perfect timing.

Those years of waiting in between, however, were necessary for so many different reasons as His will perfectly unfolded. There were days it was difficult to wait. Days we felt like we had setbacks and delays. Days we wondered if He would really come through for us or if we should just go back to the way things were. But then again, these were days we needed to grow and prepare. Days we were challenged to increase our faith in Him and love for others. Days full of miracles and prayers answered in His perfect way. Three years’ worth of days needed to make His perfect will come to pass.

God has made and continues to make ALL THINGS in our lives work for our good, and LIFE itself and everything in it truly become good and perfect gifts. They are part of His perfect will.

And now, we continue to wait on the Lord. We wait for the children who will come into our home. We wait for the lives that will be changed, including our own. But most of all, we wait for Christ, our most perfect gift, to come back and bring us to our heavenly home. For we know full well that this home now is just one stepping stone on the way to heaven where Jesus is also waiting to welcome us Home.

Thank you Jesus for this house. I really love Good gifts.

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

Leave a Reply

